Wednesday, January 9, 2013

The Complete Results Of This Years National Baseball Hall Of Fame Balloting

For the first time since 1996 and only the 8th time since voting began in 1936, the Baseball Writers Association of America did not elect anyone to be enshrined in the National Baseball Hall of Fame.  Craig Biggio, in his first year of eligibility, came the closest to reaching the 75% ballot threshold needed, falling just 39 votes short of election, appearing on 388 out of the 569 ballots.  Jack Morris, the returning player with the highest vote total, was just behind Biggio with 385 votes.  Morris has been on the ballot for 14 years now and has one more year of eligibility. 

There were 20 players on the ballot who will not be eligible for next year’s ballot.  Of those 19 will not appear again because they failed to secure at least 5% of the votes.  They include Bernie Williams, Kenny Lofton, Sandy Alomar Jr., Julio Franco, David Wells, and Shawn Green.  The one player who secured at least 5% of the vote has lost eligibility because of the 15 year ballot limit is Dale Murphy.  Murphy will become eligible for induction to the Hall in 5 years but will have to wait until 2019 for a chance to be voted in through the Expansion Era Committee as part of the 2020 Hall Of Fame ceremonies.

There will still be an induction ceremony in Cooperstown, N.Y., on July 28 as longtime Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert, umpire Hank O'Day and catcher Deacon White, who were elected into the Hall of Fame by the Pre-Integration Committee last month, will receive their honors posthumously. 

On that day the Hall of Fame will also recognize 12 individuals previously counted among its roster of members who never had a formal induction due to wartime restrictions. They are Lou Gehrig (1939) and Rogers Hornsby (1942), along with the entire class of 1945 that was selected by the Committee on Old Timers: Roger Bresnahan, Dan Brouthers, Fred Clarke, Jimmy Collins, Ed Delahanty, Hugh Duffy, Hughie Jennings, King Kelly, Jim O’Rourke and Wilbert Robinson, all of whom are deceased.

The day before that, on July 27, during a ceremony at Doubleday Field, Tom Cheek, former Toronto Blue Jays announcer, will be honored with the Ford C. Frick Award.  He is also deceased and it is expected his wife, Shirley, will be in Cooperstown to accept the award.

Also to be honored on the 27th at Doubleday Field is the only person who is still with us this year, Paul Hagen. He will be presented the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for "meritorious contributions to baseball writing."  He has been reporting on Baseball for close to 40 years, most notably covering the Phillies for the Philadelphia Daily News from 1987 to 2011.  He is also a former president of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

The 2013 ballot featured 37 candidates, with 13 returnees and 24 newcomers.  Here are the final results

Player                           Total   Percentage
(Years on ballot)          Votes           

Players who will be on next year’s ballot

Craig Biggio (1)            388     68.2
Jack Morris (14)            385     67.7
Jeff Bagwell (3)            339     59.6
Mike Piazza (1)            329     57.8
Tim Raines (6)             297     52.2
Lee Smith (11)             272     47.8
Curt Schilling (1)         221     38.8
Roger Clemens (1)       214     37.6
Barry Bonds (1)           206     36.2
Edgar Martinez (4)      204     35.9
Alan Trammell (12)    191     33.6
Larry Walker (3)         123     21.6
Fred McGriff (4)         118     20.7
Mark McGwire (7)       96     16.9
Don Mattingly (13)      75     13.2
Sammy Sosa (1)           71     12.5
Rafael Palmeiro (3)      50      8.8

Players who are no longer eligible to be voted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Dale Murphy (15)         106     18.6
Bernie Williams (2)        19      3.3
Kenny Lofton (1)           18      3.2
Sandy Alomar Jr. (1)      16      2.8
Julio Franco (1)                6      1.1
David Wells (1)                5      0.9
Steve Finley (1)                4      0.7
Shawn Green (1)              2      0.4
Aaron Sele (1)                  1      0.2
Jeff Cirillo (1)                  0      0.0
Royce Clayton (1)          0      0.0
Jeff Conine (1)               0      0.0
Roberto Hernandez (1)  0      0.0           
Ryan Klesko (1)             0      0.0

No comments:

Post a Comment